The Genomics Scholars Program

The Center for Vertebrate Genomics is not accepting applications for scholars at this time. The CVG will announce its next round of applications in early Fall 2024. Due dates are typically in early October.

Scholar Program

All scholars are expected to participate in monthly CVG Scholar Lunch meetings. These scholar lunches provide a unique opportunity to present and discuss research within a smaller forum of peers and mentors.

All scholars are encouraged to attend the CVG monthly seminar series (VERGE) whenever possible, expected to attend two Zoom-with-an-Expert sessions, expected to participate actively and present once in the CVG trainee-led journal club, and required to present a poster at the biennial CVG summer symposium.

Distinguished Scholars will be invited to serve as a host & moderator for a distinguished researcher during one of the Zoom-With-An-Expert (ZWE) events. ZWE is a CVG program launched in 2021 that brings leading genomics experts from across the world to connect with CVG trainees in a virtual discussion.

Comments from Past Participants

"My year in the CVG scholars program was one of the most enriching experiences I have had in my academic career. Getting to discuss science with such a diverse cohort of highly motivated scholars gave me many new perspectives on genomics research and techniques, and has greatly influenced the way I think about and design my own research."
 - Blake Mitchell (Aydemir Lab, Nutritional Sciences), 2022 Scholar

"The CVG Scholars Program offered me an invaluable platform, enabling me not only to showcase my work to fellow colleagues at Cornell but also to learn about the wide-ranging applications of genomics in various fields. The program played a pivotal role in broadening my scientific horizons, allowing me to expand my knowledge and explore diverse areas of research."
 - Madhav Mantri (De Vlaminck Lab), 2022 Distinguished Scholar

"The CVG award was a great vote of confidence for Madhav, and allowed our lab to further strengthen our connections to the CVG community, leading to new collaborations."
 - Dr. Iwijn De Vlaminck, School of Biomedical Engineering

"I was able to experience almost all aspects of academia and deepen my enthusiasm for learning through the CVG Scholar Program. I learned about diverse research topics and career paths, discussed recent papers on a wide variety of topics, and presented my work to a larger group of researchers. Motivating questions from interdisciplinary researchers enabled me to truly enjoy not only my research but really all research."
 - Heesoo Jeong (Vacanti Lab), 2022 Scholar

"The depth of our conversations on the implications of her work and her insights into the direction of her project matured dramatically in the year my trainee participated in the CVG Scholars Program."
 - Dr. Nathaniel Vacanti, Div. of Nutritional Sciences

"The CVG program was a very enriching experience. The diverse perspectives helped me step back from my work and think about things through different lenses, and raised my level of critical thinking about my work. I would often leave CVG lunches with renewed energy for my work and I cannot speak highly enough about this aspect of the program."
 - Matthew Edwards (Koren Lab, Molecular Biology and Genetics), 2022 Distinguished Scholar

"The CVG Scholars Program gave me the opportunity to expand my research to a new area, and gain training in machine learning. The independence that came from having my own funding was a tremendous resource for my professional growth."
 - Dr. Elena Panizza (Cerione Lab), 2022 Distinguished Scholar

"The support provided by CVG enabled Elena to stretch the boundaries of her research efforts and to begin to develop, quite independently, sophisticated approaches in data analysis and AI that have propelled her onto some very interesting lines of investigation. This will benefit Elena greatly in her career goals."
 - Dr. Richard Cerione, Dept. of Molecular Medicine

"I gained a special community among the CVG scholars and this experience stands out among the most enriching throughout my graduate studies. My favorite part of the program was the lunches with my fellow trainees. Each forum was stimulating with unique perspectives followed by energizing questions from diversified fields, and these roundtables are genuinely distinct to the CVG. I have much to thank for my colleagues and the CVG program."
 -Rosanna Ma (Sethupathy Lab, Biomedical Sciences), 2022 Scholar

Application Procedure


  • Applicants must be from laboratories whose PIs are members of the CVG.
  • Graduate student applicants must have selected a permanent laboratory home before applying.
  • The applicants should expect to be at Cornell through December 2024.
  • There is a limit of one applicant per faculty CVG member lab.

Evaluation Criteria

The application should be written and prepared by the applicant. Part of the evaluation process includes an assessment of the applicant's ability to communicate scientific goals and ideas in a succinct fashion. Those applications that are written by the PI or are excised from grant applications submitted by the PI will not be considered.

Projects to be proposed should have a genome-scale component and also concern vertebrates. Such projects may include, but are not limited to, genetic screens, computational analyses of genomic data, gene expression studies, population/evolutionary genomics, proteomics, metabolomics, or functional studies of vertebrate genes in model systems. Applications with projects focused on invertebrates are eligible, especially if the link(s) to vertebrate biology is clearly articulated. Applications with the following features are strongly preferred:

  • The project is collaborative (between two or more labs) and/or multidisciplinary in a way that will enable new training for the applicant.
  • The applicant is training in a lab that has been actively engaged with the CVG.

Application Package

  • First Page or Application Header to include applicant name and netid, and to indicate CVG Scholar or Distinguished Scholar track.
  • The project title and description. This should be no more than 2 pages using 11 point font size and single spaced. Include a brief working title, an introduction and succinct description of the planned work, and address the project's relevance to vertebrate genomics.
  • A letter of support from the PI (may be submitted separately). For CVG Scholars, PI letter should address merit and financial need. For Distinguished Scholars financial need is not a criterion and PI letter should focus on merit with specific concrete examples demonstrating the creativity and productivity of the applicant.
  • A copy of the applicant's CV (please include cornell netid).
  • A copy of the PI's NIH biosketch.
  • 1 additional page may be included for supporting figures and tables.
  • 1 additional page may be included for references.

Past Genomics Scholarship Recipients